JR Loan AdvisorsHelp with big business loans
Loan News · 24 Oct 2026

RBI’s ₹1.5 lakh crore 4-day bank-funding auction on 26 Oct — what it does not change on your next ₹5 Cr+ working-capital quote

On 23 October 2026 RBI announced a Variable Rate Repo (VRR) auction for banks — a short-term funding auction under its Liquidity Adjustment Facility — scheduled for Monday, 26 October 2026: notified amount up to ₹1,50,000 crore, tenor 4 days, bidding window 9:30 AM to 10:00 AM, with reversal on Friday, 30 October 2026. That notice does not tell you what happens to a fresh ₹5 Cr+ working-capital quote in Tamil Nadu. It does not publish a cut-off rate for your cash credit or overdraft, and it does not change the numbers on your letter. Decide on the written quote’s benchmark, spread (the lender’s margin over the benchmark), reset, drawing-power rules and validity — not on the ₹1.5 lakh crore headline.

Primary source: Reserve Bank of India — Press Release: 4-day Variable Rate Repo (VRR) auction under LAF (PR 2026-2027/1383) · Dated 24 Oct 2026. Rates, schemes and circulars change — verify on the official page before you act.

Primary source: RBI press release — 4-day Variable Rate Repo (VRR) auction on 26 October 2026 — Press Release 2026-2027/1383 (dated 23 Oct 2026). Related reading: drawing power / cash-credit utilisation · working capital.

Direct answer

On 23 October 2026, RBI announced a 4-day Variable Rate Repo (VRR) auction for banks — a short-term funding auction in which RBI lends cash to banks for a few days against eligible government securities, and the banks repay on the reversal date — scheduled for Monday, 26 October 2026 (bidding 9:30–10:00 AM), with reversal on Friday, 30 October 2026. The notified amount is up to ₹1,50,000 crore. That is the ceiling RBI said it was prepared to offer; it is not a confirmed cash injection of that size.

The notice does not tell you what happens to a fresh ₹5 Cr+ working-capital quote in Tamil Nadu. It is not a published cut to your cash credit or overdraft rate, and it does not replace the numbers on the written letter. Decide on the written quote.

What the press release states (cited figures only)

From RBI PR 2026-2027/1383 (dated 23 Oct 2026):

ItemAs published
InstrumentVariable Rate Repo (VRR) under the Liquidity Adjustment Facility (LAF) — RBI’s short-term bank-funding window
Auction dateMonday, 26 October 2026
Notified amountUp to ₹1,50,000 crore (ceiling offered; not confirmed uptake)
Tenor4 days
Window timing9:30 AM to 10:00 AM
Date of reversal30 October 2026 (Friday)
Operational guidelinesSame as RBI Press Release 2021-2022/1572 dated 20 January 2022 (pointer only; no extra rules claimed here)

Not stated in this press release: policy repo level, average lending rates (WALR), cut-off of this auction, any bank’s benchmark change, or any borrower-level working-capital rate path.

Bank funding vs your working-capital quote

  • Who the auction serves: mainly banks that use RBI’s short-term funding window — not a retail or SME rate card for a single borrower.
  • What the notified amount signals: RBI was prepared to offer up to ₹1.5 lakh crore of 4-day funding on that Monday window. How much banks take, and at what cut-off, is not stated in this press release.
  • What still prices your file: the lender’s product terms — benchmark name, spread (the lender’s margin over the benchmark), interest on what you draw, drawing-power / stock and book-debt rules, fees, and quote validity.
  • System figure ≠ your file. Bank funding conditions can ease or tighten without rewriting the sanction letter in front of you. Do not treat any aggregate rate article as your quote.

A 4-day auction vs a longer working-capital sanction

A 4-day bank-funding operation and a typical longer working-capital sanction have very different timeframes. This notice alone does not establish terms for your longer facility. Treat the auction calendar as background on bank funding around that week — not as a borrower pricing event — unless your own lender’s written letter says otherwise.

What-if: quote timing (illustrative)

Illustrative CFO timing checks only. Not a rate forecast. Not a promise of cheaper credit after the auction. Not a reason to wait for Monday.

  1. You already have a written quote with a clear expiry. Compare limit, benchmark, spread, drawing-power formula and fees against your funding date. Ask in writing whether the bank can reprice before disbursement if its own funding costs move. Base that ask on the letter — not on this auction.

  2. Your quote is about to expire. Prefer a same-terms extension in writing tied to your funding need, or re-compare fresh letters. Do not assume a re-issued quote will be identical — or cheaper — because the notified amount is large.

  3. A fresh sanction or enhancement is being negotiated. Separate the bank-funding calendar from loan checking and approval. Stock statements, book debts, insurance and drawing-power computation still decide how much you can draw — see drawing power / cash-credit utilisation. A short-term bank-funding auction does not fix drawing power.

  4. Waiting “for rates to fall after the auction.” This press release does not state a borrower-rate outcome. Waiting only for the ₹1.5 lakh crore headline, without a written benchmark and reset path, is not a CFO control — it is a hope. The announcement alone is not a reason to delay.

Expert interpretation cues (JR loan tools)

Credit-desk teaching cues for reading the week — not loan-decision conclusions:

  1. Short-term bank-funding auction ≠ Monetary Policy Committee statement. Price your file off the contractual benchmark on your letter, not off the auction press headline.
  2. Notified amount ≠ allotment ≠ your spread. ₹1,50,000 crore is the ceiling notified. Cut-off and bank-level funding outcomes are separate facts — and not stated in this press release.
  3. Four-day tenor + Friday reversal = short window for banks. That can matter more for bank treasury over a few days than for a longer working-capital sanction, unless your lender’s letter itself is short-dated or discretionary — and even then, the letter controls, not this notice.
  4. Working-capital files still live on utilisation and drawing power. Interest is typically on drawn funds, and limits follow drawing power (how much the bank lets you draw against eligible stock and customer dues, subject to its rules). Soft or tight bank funding this week does not cure a weak stock or book-debt pack — and this page does not describe that week as either.
  5. Compare written quotes on the same as-of date. For ₹5 Cr+ Tamil Nadu cash credit, overdraft or working-capital term loans, put two or three lender letters side by side with validity that covers your funding date, rather than narrating the auction size in the board note.

What to check on the next ₹5 Cr+ working-capital quote

  1. Product and limit — cash credit / overdraft / working-capital term loan; sanctioned vs proposed; enhancement vs fresh.
  2. Benchmark and spread — name and % on the letter (the benchmark rate printed on your letter, and the lender’s margin over it) — as printed, not inferred from this auction notice.
  3. Reset and quote validity — does validity cover your funding date and decision window? (Do not treat the auction or reversal dates as automatic milestones.)
  4. Interest basis — on what you actually draw vs the full limit; penal / over-limit terms.
  5. Drawing-power rules (for cash credit / overdraft) — stock, book debts, margin, age; see drawing-power checklist.
  6. Fees and conditions before money is released — processing, renewal, documentation; any clause allowing reprice before disbursement.
  7. All-in vs headline — compare the written letters side by side; do not substitute aggregate rate articles or other-product trackers for your quote.

Need a second look at a fresh working-capital quote?

If this page is updated after the 26 Oct auction, any uptake or cut-off figures will come only from RBI’s own result notice — or the page will state that the result is not covered here.

Reviewed by , Chartered Accountant (CA membership number 217936),