# RBI’s ₹1.5 lakh crore 4-day bank-funding auction on 26 Oct — what it does not change on your next ₹5 Cr+ working-capital quote

> On 23 October 2026 RBI announced a Variable Rate Repo (VRR) auction for banks — a short-term funding auction under its Liquidity Adjustment Facility — scheduled for Monday, 26 October 2026: notified amount up to ₹1,50,000 crore, tenor 4 days, bidding window 9:30 AM to 10:00 AM, with reversal on Friday, 30 October 2026. That notice does not tell you what happens to a fresh ₹5 Cr+ working-capital quote in Tamil Nadu. It does not publish a cut-off rate for your cash credit or overdraft, and it does not change the numbers on your letter. Decide on the written quote’s benchmark, spread (the lender’s margin over the benchmark), reset, drawing-power rules and validity — not on the ₹1.5 lakh crore headline.

Source: https://jrloanadvisors.com/news/rbi-vrr-liquidity-vs-wc-quote-october-2026/ · Author: CA Jitendraa Rathi (CA membership number 217936), JR Loan Advisors · Updated 24 Oct 2026

**[Discuss a ₹5 Cr+ loan](https://jrloanadvisors.com/contact/#enquiry)** · WhatsApp +91 94450 93336 (https://wa.me/919445093336) · Call +91 94450 93336 · [Enquiry form](https://jrloanadvisors.com/contact/#enquiry). Loans of ₹5 crore and above.

**Primary source:** [RBI press release — 4-day Variable Rate Repo (VRR) auction on 26 October 2026](https://www.rbi.org.in/scripts/BS_PressReleaseDisplay.aspx?prid=63861) — Press Release **2026-2027/1383** (dated **23 Oct 2026**). Related reading: [drawing power / cash-credit utilisation](/news/drawing-power-cc-utilisation-renewal-checklist/) · [working capital](/services/working-capital/).

## Direct answer

On **23 October 2026**, RBI **announced** a **4-day Variable Rate Repo (VRR)** auction for banks — a short-term funding auction in which RBI lends cash to banks for a few days against eligible government securities, and the banks repay on the reversal date — scheduled for **Monday, 26 October 2026** (bidding **9:30–10:00 AM**), with **reversal on Friday, 30 October 2026**. The **notified amount is up to ₹1,50,000 crore**. That is the ceiling RBI said it was prepared to offer; it is **not** a confirmed cash injection of that size.

The notice does **not** tell you what happens to a fresh **₹5 Cr+ working-capital** quote in Tamil Nadu. It is **not** a published cut to your cash credit or overdraft rate, and it does **not** replace the numbers on the written letter. Decide on the **written quote**.

## What the press release states (cited figures only)

From RBI PR **2026-2027/1383** (dated **23 Oct 2026**):

| Item | As published |
|---|---|
| Instrument | Variable Rate Repo (**VRR**) under the Liquidity Adjustment Facility (**LAF**) — RBI’s short-term bank-funding window |
| Auction date | **Monday, 26 October 2026** |
| Notified amount | **Up to ₹1,50,000 crore** (ceiling offered; not confirmed uptake) |
| Tenor | **4 days** |
| Window timing | **9:30 AM to 10:00 AM** |
| Date of reversal | **30 October 2026 (Friday)** |
| Operational guidelines | Same as RBI Press Release **2021-2022/1572** dated **20 January 2022** (pointer only; no extra rules claimed here) |

**Not stated in this press release:** policy repo level, average lending rates (WALR), cut-off of this auction, any bank’s benchmark change, or any borrower-level working-capital rate path.

## Bank funding vs your working-capital quote

- **Who the auction serves:** mainly banks that use RBI’s short-term funding window — not a retail or SME rate card for a single borrower.
- **What the notified amount signals:** RBI was prepared to **offer up to ₹1.5 lakh crore** of 4-day funding on that Monday window. How much banks take, and at what cut-off, is **not stated in this press release**.
- **What still prices your file:** the lender’s product terms — benchmark name, spread (the lender’s margin over the benchmark), interest on what you draw, drawing-power / stock and book-debt rules, fees, and quote validity.
- **System figure ≠ your file.** Bank funding conditions can ease or tighten without rewriting the sanction letter in front of you. Do not treat any aggregate rate article as your quote.

## A 4-day auction vs a longer working-capital sanction

A 4-day bank-funding operation and a typical longer working-capital sanction have **very different timeframes**. This notice alone does not establish terms for your longer facility. Treat the auction calendar as background on bank funding around that week — not as a borrower pricing event — unless your own lender’s written letter says otherwise.

## What-if: quote timing (illustrative)

*Illustrative CFO timing checks only. Not a rate forecast. Not a promise of cheaper credit after the auction. Not a reason to wait for Monday.*

1. **You already have a written quote with a clear expiry.** 
 Compare limit, benchmark, spread, drawing-power formula and fees against your funding date. Ask in writing whether the bank can reprice before disbursement if its own funding costs move. Base that ask on the letter — not on this auction.

2. **Your quote is about to expire.** 
 Prefer a same-terms extension in writing tied to **your** funding need, or re-compare fresh letters. Do not assume a re-issued quote will be identical — or cheaper — because the notified amount is large.

3. **A fresh sanction or enhancement is being negotiated.** 
 Separate the bank-funding calendar from loan checking and approval. Stock statements, book debts, insurance and drawing-power computation still decide how much you can draw — see [drawing power / cash-credit utilisation](/news/drawing-power-cc-utilisation-renewal-checklist/). A short-term bank-funding auction does not fix drawing power.

4. **Waiting “for rates to fall after the auction.”** 
 This press release does not state a borrower-rate outcome. Waiting only for the ₹1.5 lakh crore headline, without a written benchmark and reset path, is not a CFO control — it is a hope. The announcement alone is **not** a reason to delay.

## Expert interpretation cues (JR loan tools)

*Credit-desk teaching cues for reading the week — not loan-decision conclusions:*

1. **Short-term bank-funding auction ≠ Monetary Policy Committee statement.** Price your file off the **contractual benchmark on your letter**, not off the auction press headline.
2. **Notified amount ≠ allotment ≠ your spread.** ₹1,50,000 crore is the **ceiling notified**. Cut-off and bank-level funding outcomes are separate facts — and **not stated in this press release**.
3. **Four-day tenor + Friday reversal = short window for banks.** That can matter more for **bank treasury over a few days** than for a longer working-capital sanction, unless your lender’s letter itself is short-dated or discretionary — and even then, the letter controls, not this notice.
4. **Working-capital files still live on utilisation and drawing power.** Interest is typically on **drawn** funds, and limits follow **drawing power** (how much the bank lets you draw against eligible stock and customer dues, subject to its rules). Soft or tight bank funding this week does not cure a weak stock or book-debt pack — and this page does not describe that week as either.
5. **Compare written quotes on the same as-of date.** For ₹5 Cr+ Tamil Nadu cash credit, overdraft or working-capital term loans, put two or three lender letters side by side with validity that covers **your** funding date, rather than narrating the auction size in the board note.

## What to check on the next ₹5 Cr+ working-capital quote

1. **Product and limit** — cash credit / overdraft / working-capital term loan; sanctioned vs proposed; enhancement vs fresh.
2. **Benchmark and spread** — name and % on the letter (the benchmark rate printed on your letter, and the lender’s margin over it) — as printed, not inferred from this auction notice.
3. **Reset and quote validity** — does validity cover **your funding date** and decision window? (Do not treat the auction or reversal dates as automatic milestones.)
4. **Interest basis** — on what you actually draw vs the full limit; penal / over-limit terms.
5. **Drawing-power rules** (for cash credit / overdraft) — stock, book debts, margin, age; see [drawing-power checklist](/news/drawing-power-cc-utilisation-renewal-checklist/).
6. **Fees and conditions before money is released** — processing, renewal, documentation; any clause allowing reprice before disbursement.
7. **All-in vs headline** — compare the written letters side by side; do not substitute aggregate rate articles or other-product trackers for your quote.

## Need a second look at a fresh working-capital quote?

*If this page is updated after the 26 Oct auction, any uptake or cut-off figures will come only from RBI’s own result notice — or the page will state that the result is not covered here.*

## Frequently asked questions

### What exactly did RBI announce for 26 October 2026?

A 4-day Variable Rate Repo (VRR) auction for banks on Monday, 26 October 2026, with notified amount up to ₹1,50,000 crore, window 9:30 AM to 10:00 AM, and reversal on Friday, 30 October 2026 (RBI Press Release 2026-2027/1383 dated 23 Oct 2026).

### Does this auction set my working-capital interest rate?

No. The press release notifies a short-term funding auction for banks. It does not publish a cut-off for your cash credit or overdraft, a change to the benchmark printed on your letter, or a guarantee that any lender will revise a quote. Your rate is in the sanction or quote letter.

### Should I wait for the Monday auction before locking a ₹5 Cr+ working-capital quote?

No — not for this announcement alone. The notice is not a reason to delay a financing decision, and it is not a reason to rush one either. Base timing on your funding need and on the lender’s written offer expiry. Do not assume the ₹1.5 lakh crore notified amount cheapens your file.

### Is this the same as a policy interest-rate decision by the Monetary Policy Committee?

No. This press release is a short-term bank-funding auction notice after a review of current and evolving liquidity conditions in the near term. It is not, by itself, a Monetary Policy Committee policy-rate decision. Read your product’s contractual benchmark separately from this auction calendar.

### What should a Tamil Nadu CFO put on the comparison sheet this week?

All-in terms on the written quote: limit, benchmark, spread (the lender’s margin over the benchmark), interest on what you actually draw, drawing-power / stock and book-debt rules, processing and renewal fees, quote validity against your funding date, and any condition that allows the bank to reprice before disbursement.

## Discuss a ₹5 Cr+ loan

Send your papers for a free first look (₹5 crore to ₹250 crore). This is not a loan approval. **[Discuss a ₹5 Cr+ loan](https://jrloanadvisors.com/contact/#enquiry)** · WhatsApp +91 94450 93336 (https://wa.me/919445093336) · Call +91 94450 93336 · [Enquiry form](https://jrloanadvisors.com/contact/#enquiry). Loans of ₹5 crore and above. You may pay us a fee. We tell you the amount in writing before we start.

---
JR Loan Advisors — loan help for borrowers, Chennai & Tamil Nadu. Phone/WhatsApp +91 94450 93336 · jitendraa@jrloanadvisors.com · https://jrloanadvisors.com/
